Local Authority Byelection Results 2017 - Summary of Gains & Losses

Principal Authorities Only

Conservative gain icon Conservative Gains

From Labour

Salford City, Kersal (2/3/2017)

Broxbourne BC, Waltham Cross (9/3/2017)

Derby City (UA), Derwent (9/3/2017)

Middlesbrough Council (UA), Coulby Newham (13/4/2017)

Harrow LBC, Kenton East (20/4/2017)

Carlisle City, Yewdale (4/5/2017)

Nuneaton & Bedworth BC, Bulkington (4/5/2017)

King's Lynn & West Norfolk BC, St Margarets with St Nicholas (3/8/2017)

Waveney DC, St Margarets (16/11/2017)

Newcastle-under-Lyme BC, Newchapel (14/12/2017)

From Liberal Democrat

Colchester BC, Shrub End (7/9/2017)


Tendring DC, St James (6/4/2017)

From Independent & Other

Mid Suffolk DC, Eye (4/5/2017)

Stafford BC, Highfields & Western Downs (2 vacancies) (4/5/2017)

Powys CC (UA), Yscir (22/6/2017)

Moray Council (UA), Elgin City North (13/7/2017)

North Dorset DC, Blandford Central (27/7/2017)

Herefordshire Council (UA), Kings Acre (26/10/2017)

Labour gain icon Labour Gains

From Conservative

Basingstoke & Deane BC, Winklebury (23/2/2017)

Ashford BC, Victoria (8/6/2017)

Canterbury City, Westgate (8/6/2017)

Peterborough City (UA), East (8/6/2017)

Welwyn Hatfield BC, Hatfield Villages (8/6/2017)

Staffordshire Moorlands DC, Leek East (20/7/2017)

Worthing BC, Marine (3/8/2017)

Babergh DC, Sudbury South (7/9/2017)

Cannock Chase DC, Hednesford Green Heath (7/9/2017)

North Lanarkshire Council (UA), Fortissat (7/9/2017)

Breckland DC, Thetford Priory (28/9/2017)

Hertsmere BC, Borehamwood Kenilworth (5/10/2017)


Rotherham MBC, Dinnington (2/2/2017)

Swale BC, Milton Regis (3/8/2017)

Thanet DC, Margate Central (3/8/2017)

Adur DC, Mash Barn (5/10/2017)

From Independent & Other

Eden DC, Alston Moor (20/7/2017)

North Somerset Council (UA), North Worle ward (31/8/2017)

Liberal Democrat gain icon Liberal Democrat Gains

From Conservative

Three Rivers DC, Gade Valley (12/1/2017)

Cotswold DC, Fairford North (9/2/2017)

North Norfolk DC, Waterside (9/2/2017)

Wokingham DC (UA), Emmbrook (16/2/2017)

Kettering BC, Barton (23/2/2017)

South Hams DC, Charterlands (23/2/2017)

West Somerset DC, Dunster & Timberscombe (23/3/2017)

East Devon DC, Broadclyst (4/5/2017)

Teignbridge DC, Newton Abbot Bushell (4/5/2017)

Mid Sussex DC, Hassocks (8/6/2017)

East Cambridgeshire DC, Ely South (7/9/2017)

Three Rivers DC, Oxhey Hall & Hayling (12/10/2017)

Arun DC, Aldwick West (2/11/2017)

North Devon DC, Braunton East (2/11/2017)

Sefton MBC, Duke's (2/11/2017)

Maidstone BC, North (30/11/2017)

North Devon DC, Newport (7/12/2017)

Waverley BC, Godalming Central & Ockford (13/12/2017)

From Labour

Sunderland City, Sandhill (12/1/2017)

Rotherham MBC, Brinsworth & Catcliffe (2/2/2017)

Chesterfield BC, Holmebrook (21/9/2017)

Oadby & Wigston BC, Oadby Uplands (21/9/2017)

Gosport BC, Bridgemary North Ward (30/11/2017)


Aylesbury Vale DC, Elmhurst (6/4/2017)

Torridge DC, Hartland & Bradworthy (8/6/2017)

Fareham BC, Stubbington (9/11/2017)

Torridge DC, Torrington (30/11/2017)

From Independent & Other

Wells City Council, St Cuthbert's (2/3/2017)

West Oxfordshire DC, Hailey, Minster Lovell & Leafield (9/3/2017)

UKIP gain icon UKIP Gains

From Independent & Other

Tendring DC, Great & Little Oakley (9/2/2017)

Green gain icon Green Gains

From Conservative

Cannock Chase DC, Hednesford South (7/9/2017)

Lewes DC, Ringmer & Ouse Valley (7/9/2017)

Herefordshire Council (UA), Bishops Frome & Cradley (23/11/2017)


Forest of Dean DC, Lydbrook and Ruardean (16/2/2017)

From Independent & Other

Herefordshire Council (UA), Leominster South (23/3/2017)

Independent & Other gain icon Independent & Other Gains

From Conservative

Cheshire East Council (UA), Bollington (16/2/2017)

Windsor & Maidenhead RBC (UA), Clewer North (4/5/2017)

Bromsgrove DC, Alvechurch Village (8/6/2017)

West Lancashire DC, Derby (29/6/2017)

Herefordshire Council (UA), Golden Valley South (7/9/2017)

Torridge DC, Westward Ho! (14/12/2017)

From Labour

Ashfield DC, Hucknall North (12/10/2017)

From Liberal Democrat

Uttlesford DC, Elsenham & Henham (16/2/2017)

Rutland CC (UA), Whissendine (20/7/2017)

From Independent & Other

Hartlepool BC (UA), Seaton (19/10/2017)

Information courtesy of the Association of Liberal Democrat Councillors.

Web presentation by Keith Edkins © 2018. By-elections Home page.