Local Authority Byelection Results 2018 - Summary of Gains & Losses

Principal Authorities Only

Conservative gain icon Conservative Gains

From Labour

Bolton MBC, Hulton (18/1/2018)

Waveney DC, Pakefield (12/7/2018)

Fife Council (UA), Inverkeithing & Dalgety Bay (6/9/2018)

Nottingham City (UA), Clifton North (27/9/2018)

From Liberal Democrat

Dorset CC, Bridport (22/2/2018)

West Dorset DC, Bridport North (22/2/2018)

Bristol City (UA), Westbury-on-Trym & Henleaze (24/5/2018)

Torridge DC, Hartland & Bradworthy (26/7/2018)

Cornwall Council (UA), Newquay Treviglas (9/8/2018)


Tendring DC, St Paul's (15/2/2018)

Torridge DC, Bideford East (3/5/2018)

Thanet DC, Birchington South (26/7/2018)

From Independent & Other

Weymouth & Portland BC, Tophill East (8/2/2018)

North Kesteven DC, Eagle, Swinderby & Witham St Hughs (22/2/2018)

Redcar & Cleveland BC (UA), Longbeck (15/3/2018)

Chiltern DC, Ridgeway (22/3/2018)

Thurrock Council (UA), Ockendon (22/3/2018)

Labour gain icon Labour Gains

From Conservative

Medway Council (UA), Rochester West (8/3/2018)

Nottingham City (UA), Wollaton West (8/3/2018)

Staffordshire Moorlands DC, Leek West (22/3/2018)

Braintree DC, Bocking North (3/5/2018)

Lichfield DC, Curborough (5/7/2018)

From Liberal Democrat

Hertfordshire CC, St Albans North (3/5/2018)


Basildon BC, Pitsea South East (21/6/2018)

From Green

Lancaster City, University & Scotforth (2 seats) (17/5/2018)

From Independent & Other

Hertsmere BC, Borehamwood Cowley (4/1/2018)

Liberal Democrat gain icon Liberal Democrat Gains

From Conservative

North Norfolk DC, Worstead (15/2/2018)

Teignbridge DC, Chudleigh (15/2/2018)

Teignbridge DC, Dawlish Central & North East (15/2/2018)

Arun DC, Marine (22/2/2018)

Dacorum BC, Northchurch (8/3/2018)

Aylesbury Vale DC, Central and Walton (22/3/2018)

Chichester DC, Rogate (12/4/2018)

Warrington BC (UA), Lymm South (19/4/2018)

West Berkshire Council (UA), Thatcham West (19/4/2018)

Aylesbury Vale DC, Quainton (3/5/2018)

Broadland DC, Aylesham (24/5/2018)

South Oxfordshire DC, Benson & Crowmarsh (7/6/2018)

South Northamptonshire DC, Whittlewood (21/6/2018)

Bath & North East Somerset Council (UA), Kingsmead (5/7/2018)

Waveney DC, Southwold & Reydon (12/7/2018)

North Yorkshire CC, Knaresborough (16/8/2018)

East Herts Council, Watton-at-Stone (23/8/2018)

From Labour

Sunderland City, Pallion (1/2/2018)


West Somerset DC, Alcombe (21/6/2018)

From Independent & Other

West Somerset DC, Minehead South (22/2/2018)

From SNP

Highland Council (UA), Caol & Mallaig (5/4/2018)

Green gain icon Green Gains

From Independent & Other

Taunton Deane BC, Wiveliscombe & West Deane (5/4/2018)

Independent & Other gain icon Independent & Other Gains

From Conservative

Scottish Borders Council (UA), Selkirkshire (22/2/2018)

East Hampshire DC, Petersfield Bell Hill (8/3/2018)

Rutland CC (UA), Oakham South East (8/3/2018)

North Kesteven DC, Kirkby La Thorpe & South Kyme (24/5/2018)

Rutland CC (UA), Oakham South West (12/7/2018)

Pembrokeshire Council (UA), Pembroke St Mary North (13/9/2018)

From Labour

Bolton MBC, Farnworth (8/3/2018)

Merthyr Tydfil CBC (UA), Gurnos (26/7/2018)

Neath Port Talbot CBC (UA), Gwynfi (16/8/2018)

SNP gain icon SNP Gains

From Labour

Midlothian Council (UA), Penicuik (22/3/2018)

Information courtesy of the Association of Liberal Democrat Councillors.

Web presentation by Keith Edkins © 2018. By-elections Home page.