Local Authority Byelection Results 2019 - Summary of Gains & Losses

Principal Authorities Only

Conservative gain icon Conservative Gains

From Labour

East Northamptonshire DC, Irthlingborough Waterloo (8/8/2019)

Gravesham BC, Westcourt (17/10/2019)

Daventry DC, Abbey North (24/10/2019)

Worcestershire CC, Bromsgrove South (31/10/2019)

Cardiff City (UA), Llanishen (21/11/2019)

Hounslow LBC, Feltham North (12/12/2019)

From Liberal Democrat

Torbay BC (UA), Goodrington with Roselands (14/11/2019)

Chichester DC, Loxwood (21/11/2019)

From Independent & Other

Thurrock Council (UA), Alveley & Uplands (21/3/2019)

North Kesteven DC, Billinghay, Martin & North Kyme (13/6/2019)

Isle of Wight Council (UA), Whippingham & Osborne (20/6/2019)

Eden DC, Penrith South (5/9/2019)

Rutland CC (UA), Ryhall & Casterton (12/9/2019)

Rochford DC, Sweyne Park & Grange (26/9/2019)

North Yorkshire CC, Upper Dales (17/10/2019)

Boston BC, Kirton and Frampton (12/12/2019)

Labour gain icon Labour Gains

From Conservative

Luton BC (UA), Icknield (26/9/2019)

Powys CC (UA), St Mary (14/11/2019)

From Independent & Other

Buckinghamshire CC, Totteridge & Bowerdean (7/2/2019)

Southampton City (UA), Coxford Ward (14/3/2019)

Bangor City (UA), Hirael (28/11/2019)

Liberal Democrat gain icon Liberal Democrat Gains

From Conservative

Wiltshire Council (UA), Trowbridge Drynham (4/7/2019)

East Riding of Yorkshire Council (UA), Bridlington North (11/7/2019)

Daventry DC, Brixworth (18/7/2019)

Gloucester City, Barnwood (25/7/2019)

Worcester City, Claines (8/8/2019)

South Northamptonshire DC, Middleton Cheney (12/9/2019)

Powys CC (UA), Llandrindod North (24/10/2019)

Eden DC, Shap (14/11/2019)

Tunbridge Wells BC, Culverden (14/11/2019)

Wiltshire Council (UA), Trowbridge Lambrok (28/11/2019)

From Labour

Bradford City, Bolton & Undercliffe (7/2/2019)

Durham CC (UA), Shildon & Dene Valley (2/5/2019)

Merton LBC, Cannon Hill (20/6/2019)

Gloucester City, Podsmead (24/7/2019)

From Independent & Other

Somerset West & Taunton Council, Vivary (19/9/2019)

Somerset West & Taunton Council, Norton Fitzwarren & Staplegrove (3/10/2019)

Green gain icon Green Gains

From Conservative

Aylesbury Vale DC, Haddenham and Stone (7/3/2019)

From Independent & Other

Oxfordshire CC, Wallingford (28/11/2019)

Independent & Other gain icon Independent & Other Gains

From Conservative

Kent CC, Sittingbourne North (2/5/2019)

Surrey CC, Haslemere (2/5/2019)

Basingstoke & Deane BC, Bramley and Sherfield (10/10/2019)

From Labour

Tower Hamlets LBC, Shadwell (7/2/2019)

Newcastle-under-Lyme BC, Holditch & Chesterton (21/3/2019)

Neath Port Talbot CBC (UA), Resolven (23/5/2019)

Mansfield DC, Sandhurst (1/7/2019)

Bury MBC, Radcliffe West (29/8/2019)

From Liberal Democrat

Cornwall Council (UA), Wadebridge West (7/11/2019)

From Independent & Other

Durham CC (UA), Spennymoor (2/5/2019)

Essex CC, Clacton East (3/10/2019)

Pembrokeshire Council (UA), Hundleton (7/11/2019)

SNP gain icon SNP Gains

From Conservative

Fife Council (UA), Dunfermline Central (14/11/2019)

From Labour

Edinburgh City (UA), Leith Walk (11/4/2019)

Dundee City (UA), North East (2/5/2019)

Plaid gain icon Plaid Gains

From Labour

Cardiff City (UA), Ely (21/2/2019)

Rhondda Cynon Taff CBC (UA), Rhondda (4/7/2019)

Neath Port Talbot CBC (UA), Rhos (14/11/2019)

Information courtesy of the Association of Liberal Democrat Councillors.

Web presentation by Keith Edkins © 2022. By-elections Home page.