Local Authority Byelection Results 2022 - Summary of Gains & Losses

Principal Authorities Only

Conservative gain icon Conservative Gains

From Labour

High Peak BC, Cote Heath (7/4/2022)

Bolton MBC, Rumworth (15/9/2022)

Coventry City, Sherbourne (22/9/2022)

Leicester City (UA), North Evington (13/10/2022)

Dumfries & Galloway Council (UA), Mid Galloway and Wigtown West (8/12/2022)

Redcar & Cleveland BC (UA), Normanby (22/12/2022)

From Liberal Democrat

Oadby & Wigston BC, Wigston Meadowcourt (17/2/2022)

Fareham BC, Portchester East (20/10/2022)

From Independent & Other

Selby DC, Byram and Brotherton (20/1/2022)

Newark & Sherwood DC, Collingham (17/2/2022)

West Devon BC, Tavistock North (21/2/2022)

Wyre Forest District Council, Franche & Habberley North (16/6/2022)

South Holland DC, Spalding Monks House (8/12/2022)

Labour gain icon Labour Gains

From Conservative

Spelthorne BC, Stanwell North (23/2/2022)

Durham CC (UA), West Auckland (14/4/2022)

Brighton & Hove City (UA), Rottingdean Coastal (5/5/2022)

Harlow DC, Toddbrook (5/5/2022)

Lewes DC, Peacehaven West (12/5/2022)

Harlow District Council, Bush Fair (23/6/2022)

South Derbyshire DC, Midway (30/6/2022)

Breckland DC, Thetford Boudica (14/7/2022)

Redditch BC, Headless Cross and Oakenshaw (1/9/2022)

Worcestershire CC, Arrow Valley West (1/9/2022)

Cannock Chase DC, Hednesford North (8/9/2022)

Newark & Sherwood DC, Edwinstowe and Clipstone (29/9/2022)

Shropshire Council (UA), Bridgnorth West and Tasley (6/10/2022)

Broadland DC, Thorpe St Andrew North West (20/10/2022)

Derbyshire CC, Long Eaton (27/10/2022)

Lichfield DC, Chasetown (3/11/2022)

Braintree DC, Braintree South (10/11/2022)

Burnley BC, Rosehill with Burnley Wood (10/11/2022)

Blackburn with Darwen BC (UA), Darwen South (17/11/2022)

Blackpool BC (UA), Greenlands (17/11/2022)

Bassetlaw DC, Sutton (24/11/2022)

Southampton City (UA), Bitterne (1/12/2022)


Sunderland City, Redhill (3/3/2022)

From Independent & Other

Allerdale BC, Stainburn and Clifton (17/2/2022)

Durham CC (UA), Ferryhill (24/2/2022)

Middlesbrough Council (UA), Berwick Hills & Pallister (30/6/2022)

Chesterfield BC, Hollingwood & Inkersall (7/7/2022)

Hartlepool BC (UA), Foggy Furze (8/9/2022)

Mansfield DC, Oaktree (15/9/2022)

Colchester City, Highwoods (8/12/2022)

Liberal Democrat gain icon Liberal Democrat Gains

From Conservative

Wealden DC, Hailsham South (10/2/2022)

North Northamptonshire Council (UA), Oundle (17/2/2022)

South Somerset DC, Neroche (3/3/2022)

East Riding of Yorkshire Council (UA), South Hunsley (7/4/2022)

Surrey Heath BC, Bisley & West End (14/4/2022)

Carlisle City, Longtown and the Border (5/5/2022)

Cherwell DC, Launton & Otmoor (5/5/2022)

Vale of White Horse DC, Steventon & The Hanneys (5/5/2022)

Sevenoaks DC, Penshurst, Fordcombe & Chiddingstone (9/6/2022)

Waverley Borough Council, Hindhead (23/6/2022)

Buckinghamshire Council (UA), Bernwood (30/6/2022)

East Riding of Yorkshire Council (UA), Bridlington North (30/6/2022)

East Riding of Yorkshire Council (UA), Beverley Rural (25/8/2022)

Guildford BC, Tillingbourne (20/10/2022)

Salisbury City PC, St Paul's (3/11/2022)

Wiltshire Council (UA), Salisbury St Paul's (3/11/2022)

Isle of Wight Council (UA), Brighstone, Calbourne and Shalfleet (24/11/2022)

Surrey CC, Sunbury Common & Ashford Common (30/11/2022)

Norfolk CC, Gaywood North and Central (1/12/2022)

Waverley BC, Chiddingfold & Dunsfold (1/12/2022)

North Devon DC, Landkey (8/12/2022)

Test Valley BC, Andover Romans (15/12/2022)

From Labour

Gedling BC, Cavendish (6/1/2022)

Manchester City, Ancoats & Beswick (3/2/2022)

From Green

Rutland CC (UA), Uppingham (5/5/2022)

From Independent & Other

Somerset West & Taunton Council, Alcombe (10/2/2022)

Mid Devon DC, Cullompton South (7/4/2022)

Maldon DC, Heybridge West (14/4/2022)

City of Ely Council, West (13/6/2022)

Shropshire Council (UA), Highley (23/6/2022)

Camden LBC, Hampstead Town (7/7/2022)

Penkridge PC, North East (21/7/2022)

Penrith TC, Carleton (4/8/2022)

Colchester City, Highwoods (8/12/2022)

South Kesteven DC, Toller (15/12/2022)

Green gain icon Green Gains

From Conservative

Wychavon DC, The Littletons (13/1/2022)

Rutland CC (UA), Ryhall and Casterton (10/3/2022)

Dorset Council (UA), Lyme and Charmouth (7/4/2022)

Horsham DC, Storrington and Washington (7/4/2022)

Lancaster City, Ellel (19/5/2022)

Spelthorne BC, Laleham & Shepperton Green (25/5/2022)

Mole Valley DC, Charlwood (7/7/2022)

Lancaster City, Warton (8/9/2022)

Wealden DC, Maresfield (22/9/2022)

Independent & Other gain icon Independent & Other Gains

From Conservative

Waverley BC, Frensham, Dockenfield and Tilford (12/5/2022)

North Kesteven DC, Sleaford Quarrington and Mareham (26/5/2022)

Breckland DC, Mattishall (9/6/2022)

Wyre BC, Preesall (18/8/2022)

West Sussex CC, Felpham (8/9/2022)

Nottinghamshire CC, Eastwood (3/11/2022)

From Labour

Bridgend CBC (UA), Bridgend Central (11/8/2022)

From Liberal Democrat

South Cambridgeshire DC, Longstanton (2 vacancies) (3/11/2022)

Kingston-upon-Thames RLBC, Green Lane & St James (10/11/2022)

From Independent & Other

Herefordshire Council (UA), Bromyard West (10/3/2022)

Bournemouth, Christchurch & Poole Council (UA), Highcliffe and Walkford (6/10/2022)

East Devon DC, Newton Poppleford & Harpford (10/11/2022)

SNP gain icon SNP Gains

From Liberal Democrat

Moray Council (UA), Buckie (3/11/2022)

Plaid gain icon Plaid Gains

From Labour

Ceredigion CC (UA), Lampeter (6/10/2022)

Information courtesy of the Association of Liberal Democrat Councillors.

Web presentation by Keith Edkins © 2023. By-elections Home page.