Local Authority Byelection Results 2023 - Summary of Gains & Losses

Principal Authorities Only

Conservative gain icon Conservative Gains

From Labour

Denbighshire CC (UA), Rhyl Ty Newydd (9/2/2023)

Cambridge City, Kings Hedges (4/7/2023)

Swindon BC (UA), St Margaret & South Marston (20/7/2023)

Broadland DC, Thorpe St Andrew North West (7/9/2023)

From Green

Spelthorne BC, Ashford Town (6/9/2023)

From Independent & Other

Uttlesford DC, Great Dunmow South & Barnston (5/1/2023)

South Holland DC, Spalding St Pauls (9/11/2023)

From SNP

Stirling Council (UA), Dunblane and Bridge of Allan (16/3/2023)

South Ayreshire Council, Girvan & South Carrick (21/9/2023)

Labour gain icon Labour Gains

From Conservative

Cannock Chase DC, Etching Hill & The Heath (5/1/2023)

Plymouth City (UA), Moor View (12/1/2023)

Staffordshire CC, Biddulph North (19/1/2023)

Staffordshire Moorlands DC, Biddulph West (19/1/2023)

Plymouth City (UA), Plymstock Dunstone (27/7/2023)

Dudley MBC, St James (24/8/2023)

Derbyshire CC, Swadlincote South (31/8/2023)

Lancashire CC, Chorley Rural West (14/9/2023)

From Green

Melton BC, Ashfordby (2/11/2023)

From Independent & Other

Rotherham MBC, Keppel (26/1/2023)

Aberdeen City (UA), Dyce, Bucksburn and Danestone (23/2/2023)

Wyre Borough Council, Warren (22/6/2023)

From SNP

North Lanarkshire Council (UA), Bellshill (15/6/2023)

South Lanarkshire Council (UA), East Kilbride West (6/7/2023)

North Lanarkshire Council (UA), Motherwell South East and Ravenscraig (16/11/2023)

Liberal Democrat gain icon Liberal Democrat Gains

From Conservative

Cheltenham BC, Battledown (9/2/2023)

North Yorkshire CC, Masham and Fountains (9/2/2023)

Cornwall Council (UA), Long Rock, Marazion & St Erth (16/2/2023)

Gloucester City, Westgate (30/3/2023)

South Derbyshire DC, Hilton (15/6/2023)

Surrey Heath BC, Frimley Green (15/6/2023)

West Devon BC, Burrator (15/6/2023)

East Sussex CC, Meads (3/8/2023)

Norfolk CC, Freebridge Lynn (3/8/2023)

Somerset CC, Castle Cary (10/8/2023)

Shropshire Council (UA), Worfield (7/9/2023)

Milton Keynes City (UA), Newport Pagnell South (21/9/2023)

Shropshire Council (UA), Alveley & Claverley (19/10/2023)

Buckinghamshire Council (UA), Buckingham East (2/11/2023)

Bolton MBC, Westhoughton North & Hunger Hill (16/11/2023)

Hertfordshire CC, Harpenden Rural (7/12/2023)

North Kesteven DC, Billinghay Rural (14/12/2023)

From Labour

Dudley MBC, Cradley & Wollescote (3/8/2023)

Colchester City, Highlands (21/9/2023)

From Green

North Yorkshire CC, Sowerby and Topcliffe (30/11/2023)

From Independent & Other

Cambridgeshire CC, St Neots The Eatons (16/2/2023)

Isle of Wight Council (UA), Wootton Bridge (24/8/2023)

Elmbridge BC, Molesey East (2/11/2023)

Cambridge City, Queen Ediths (23/11/2023)

Rugby BC, Dunsmore (two vacancies) (14/12/2023)

From SNP

Edinburgh City (UA), Corstorphine/Murrayfield (9/3/2023)

Green gain icon Green Gains

From Conservative

Plymouth City (UA), Plympton Chaddlewood (12/1/2023)

Kent CC, Hythe West (2/3/2023)

Norfolk CC, West Depwade (13/7/2023)

East Sussex CC, Heathfield & Mayfield (27/7/2023)

Worcester City, Warndon Parish South (19/10/2023)

Worcestershire CC, Warndon Parish (19/10/2023)

From Labour

Bournemouth, Christchurch & Poole Council (UA), Eastcliffe and Springbourne (29/6/2023)

From Liberal Democrat

Bristol City (UA), Hotwells and Harbourside (2/2/2023)

St Albans City, St Peters (15/6/2023)

From Independent & Other

North Somerset Council (UA), Wrington (16/11/2023)

Independent & Other gain icon Independent & Other Gains

From Conservative

Swale BC, Minster Cliffs (14/9/2023)

From Labour

North Yorkshire CC, Eastfield (25/5/2023)

Newham LBC, Boleyn (13/7/2023)

Middlesbrough Council (UA), Ayresome (17/8/2023)

Newham LBC, Plaistow North (23/11/2023)

From Liberal Democrat

Highland Council (UA), Tain & Easter Ross (28/9/2023)

From Green

West Devon BC, Tavistock North (22/6/2023)

From Independent & Other

Torfaen CBC (UA), Llantarnam (2/2/2023)

Cheltenham BC, Prestbury (12/10/2023)

Herefordshire Council (UA), Golden Valley South (26/10/2023)

Argyll & Bute Council (UA), South Kintyre (2/11/2023)

Bolton MBC, Kearsley (16/11/2023)

Information courtesy of the Association of Liberal Democrat Councillors.

Web presentation by Keith Edkins © 2023. By-elections Home page.