UK Local Government Information

This site provides links to Web sites operated by or on behalf of elected local authorities in the United Kingdom. All 433 Local Authorities and over 80 joint bodies are listed.

They can be retrieved by clickable maps, which for convenience of presentation are separated into one page for England & Wales and another for Scotland & Northern Ireland. There is also an enlarged map for London.

Alternatively they can be accessed from a Text Listing, in County sequence for England and in simple alphabetical order for each of Wales, Scotland and Northern Ireland.

There are trailers for furure annual elections in 2024, 2025, 2026 and 2027.

(The following former trailers are retained for reference: 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018, 2019, 2021, 2022, 2023.)

I also maintain a table of Council Political Compositions keeping it up to date as best I can from the Byelection Results collated by the Association of Liberal Democrat Councillors.

Recommended external links

Lists of Councils in alphabetical order:

Tagish Ltd


Parish & Town Councils:

Tagish Ltd

Central Government oversight of Local Government:

(England) Communities & Local Government

(Scotland) Scottish Executive

(Wales) Welsh Government

(Northern Ireland) Department of Environment Northern Ireland

The Standards Board for England

Location aids:

Beginners' Guide to UK Geography - from the Office for National Statistics. Introduction to divisions of the UK including administrative areas; council responsibilities; lists; and PDF maps.

Election Maps: Ordnance Survey maps of parliamentary constituencies and local government wards tells you which authority a town or postcode is in (and much else besides!)

Bing Maps general purpose mapping.

Planned Boundary Changes:

Local Government Boundary Commission for England
Local Government Boundary Commission for Wales / Comisiwn Ffiniau Llywodraeth Leol I Gymru
Local Government Boundary Commission for Scotland
Parliamentary Boundaries: Boundary Commission for England | Wales | Scotland | Northern Ireland

UK Police Forces:


Local authority leaders' boards:

East of England Local Government Association

East Midlands Councils

Association of North East Councils

North West Regional Leaders Board

South East England Councils

South West Councils

West Midlands Councils

Local Government Yorkshire and Humber

National Park Authorities:

Northumberland National Park.

Lake District National Park.

North York Moors National Park.

Yorkshire Dales National Park.

Peak District National Park.

The Broads Authority.

Exmoor National Park.

Dartmoor National Park.

New Forest National Park.

Parc Cenedlaethol Eryri | Snowdonia National Park.

Parc Cenedlaethol Bannau Brycheiniog | Brecon Beacons National Park.

Pembrokeshire Coast National Park | Parc Cenedlaethol Arfordir Penfro.

Valid XHTML 1.0 Strict © Keith Edkins 2022.